Changes to TAFE in Western Australia

Key changes have been made to Western Australia’s TAFE system, which will ultimately deliver new choices to students, industry and the community of Western Australia.

A network of five TAFE colleges has been established to manage the current 70 campus locations across Western Australia.

There will be minimal impact on students enrolled in courses this year. They will continue to have access to their training as the current campuses and courses offered remain unchanged. 

If you are a student and your concern is not addressed by our FAQs please contact the TAFE helpline number below.

These changes are part of the State Government’s Training Sector Reform Project.  New arrangements will also be introduced that will see greater collaboration among the network of colleges, allowing resources and expertise to be shared across WA. This will give students, particularly those in regional areas, access to more diverse training programs. 

More details on the reform project are available from The Western Australian Training Sector Reform Project Report.
TAFE colleges are a significant cornerstone of WA’s VET system and these changes will ensure that this position is strengthened while also ensuring colleges are sustainable into the future.

TAFE helpline:    T: 1800 741 691
Other enquiries:  E:

Last modified: 11/04/2016 9:00 AM