Skilled migration

Skilled migration

In Australia, the Commonwealth Government's Department of Immigration and Border Protection has responsibility for immigration policy. It also makes the final determinations on all applications for humanitarian, business and skilled visas (see for more information). The Commonwealth Government allows each Australian state and territory to nominate skilled migrants under a broad range of occupations, to meet their own local workforce needs.

The State nominated migration program

The Western Australian Government places Western Australians first when it comes to securing jobs in the State. Accordingly, the State Government's first workforce development priority is to train and prepare Western Australians for the workforce.

WA’s State nominated migration program therefore targets only those skilled jobs that genuinely require overseas workers, where local workers cannot be sourced.

The program works in conjunction with other workforce development mechanisms to help ensure employers have access to the skills they need.

For information on living and working in Western Australia, or how to apply for nomination by the State Government for a skilled nominated visa under WA's State nominated migration program, please visit the Department's Migration portal


The Western Australian skilled migration occupation list

The WASMOL lists those occupations eligible for skilled migration through nomination by the Western Australian Government. The occupations identified on the WASMOL do not relate to any specific job vacancies, nor do they represent any guarantee of a job. Rather, the WASMOL identifies occupations that have compelling evidence of unmet demand and are considered a priority for WA in respect to those skilled jobs that genuinely require overseas workers.

If a potential migrant’s occupation is identified on the WASMOL, he or she may be eligible for nomination under a Skilled nominated visa (Subclass 190) or Skilled regional (provisional) visa (Subclass 489), subject to a number of other criteria also being satisfied.

The WASMOL is reviewed regularly to ensure it remains current. The latest WASMOL can be accessed on the Department's Migration portal. For enquiries please contact our Migration Services branch.

Page last updated May 01, 2018