Register of Class A and B qualifications

Register of Class A and B qualifications

​​​​​Under the Vocational Education and Training Act 1996, the Minister must classify each prescribed vocational education and training qualification into one of the three categories — Class A, Class B and Class C.

  • Class A: These qualifications can only be obtained by fulfilling the obligations of an apprentice under a training contract.
  • Class B: These qualifications may, but need not, be obtained by fulfilling the obligations of an apprentice un​​der a training contract.
  • Class C: Class C qualifications cannot be delivered under a training contract. All qualifications not classified as A or B are automatically classified as Class C.

When nominating a Class A or B qualification, a training contract must comply with any requirements imposed for that qualification, including but are not limited to, any pre-conditions, the period and terms of contracts under that qualification.

Current version

The latest Classification of Prescribed Vocational Education and Training Qualifications (Register of Class A and B qualifications) will be available from this website at the beginning of each month. The Changes to the register of Class A and B qualifications (exception report) will also be available for each qualifications list, to detail the changes made each month.


(note: no exceptions were reported in this period)

If you need to see these items from previous months, please contact us via our online enquiry form

Page last updated February 09, 2017