Coronavirus (COVID-19) information update 10 March 2020

Department of Training and Workforce Development (DTWD) Executive and TAFE Managing Directors are meeting weekly to ensure the sector is well placed to manage COVID-19 developments. We continue to work closely with lead agencies including Department of the Premier and Cabinet and Department of Health to ensure our approach is informed by, and aligns with, central coordination points. Recognising the need to respond rapidly and effectively to a Pandemic, DTWD Executive and TAFE Managing Directors have established a Pandemic Incident Response Plan to manage COVID-19 developments.  

As has been the case in recent weeks we will continue to closely monitor new information such as travel advisories and quickly and clearly advise you what this means, both for staff and students. We will provide regular updates to you as information becomes available.    

The latest advice from the WA Department of Health in response to the outbreak of novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in Australia and overseas is as follows.  

WA COVID clinics opening  

As at 10 March, three COVID clinics will be open at Fiona Stanley Hospital, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital and Royal Perth Hospital to test and support people at risk of coronavirus and to help prevent community-based transmission of the disease. The clinics will operate from 8 am to 8 pm, seven days a week, to screen and test patients where appropriate, provide information and refer patients for further medical treatment if necessary. 

Those who should attend the clinic are people with fever and respiratory symptoms, such as a cough or sore throat and: 

  • have returned from overseas travel in the last 14 days or; 
  • are a contact of a confirmed COVID-19 case or; 
  • believe they have been in contact with a person infected with COVID-19.    

Information on the COVID clinics is on the Department of Health website

Those individuals who are tested and well enough will be asked to self-isolate while they await test results, which is generally 48 hours. Anyone who is confirmed to have coronavirus who does not require hospitalisation will be asked to stay in home isolation as instructed by the public health team. 

Members of the public can telephone the COVID-19 Health Information Line on 1800 020 080 for advice and more information, including specific clinic locations, by visiting  

Countries with travel restrictions in place for people entering Australia 

  • The Australian Government has extended travel restrictions for people entering Australia having left mainland China (excluding Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan) on or after 1 February 2020. 
  • The Australian Government has put in place travel restrictions for people entering Australia having left Iran on or after 1 March 2020. 
  • The Australian Government has put in place travel restrictions for people entering Australia having left the Republic of Korea on or after 5 March 2020. 
  • Special restrictions apply for students or staff who have travelled from mainland China, Iran or the Republic of Korea, or been in close contact of a confirmed case of coronavirus.  

Students cannot attend TAFE if they have:  

  • left, or transited through mainland China, Iran or the Republic of Korea in the last 14 days (they must isolate themselves for 14 days from leaving mainland China); and/or
  • been in close contact with a confirmed case of coronavirus in the last 14 days (they must isolate themselves for 14 days after the date of last contact with the confirmed case).

Students should notify their lecturer or tutor of their circumstance to determine whether alternate arrangements for learning can be temporarily put in place. 

Countries considered to pose a risk of transmission  

This list is based on the risk of the person having been exposed to COVID-19 due to travel to a country with sustained community transmission and/or based on the patterns of travel between those countries and Australia, and/or the other epidemiological evidence.  

  • Higher risk: Mainland China, Iran, Italy, South Korea  
  • Moderate risk: Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia (including Bali), Japan, Singapore, Thailand  

The most up to date list can be accessed on the Australian Government Department of Health website

All returned travellers who have travelled in or transited through the remaining listed higher risk countries (Italy) or a country considered to pose a moderate risk of transmission in the last 14 days should self-monitor for symptoms and immediately isolate themselves if they become unwell.  

The WA Department of Health website has further information and fact sheets for parents, students and staff, and access to a health information helpline 1800 020 080.       

Information will be updated as advised by health authorities. 

Page last updated July 28, 2020