WA Training Awards 2017 individual finalists announced

​After receiving more than 130 applications, 30 individuals and 11 businesses have been announced as this year’s finalists in the WA Training Awards 2017. 

Proving talent really does shine across the whole state, the finalists include a ranger from Broome, an automotive trainee from Geraldton and a cabinet maker from Roelands.

The winners will be announced at a presentation dinner at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday 15 September.

This year's individual finalists are:

WA Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year 2017

Shayna Daniels – Clarkson
Kim Dick – Ravenswood
Kirsten Holiner – Tuart Hill
Wynston Shovellor-Sesar – Broome

WA Apprentice of the Year 2017

Lauren Bruce-Smith – Banksia Grove
Nicholas Johnston – Roelands
Tristan Palmer – Swan View
Jamie Stewart – Canning Vale

WA Cultural Diversity Training Award 2017

Rachel Orr – Carine
Esfandiar Shahmir – O'Connor
Lalida Udomsak – York

WA International Student of the Year 2017

Jia-Shian Chen –  Bedfordale
Kumbirai Gono –  Bennett Springs
Rui Scheidt Feix – Coogee
Charlotte Strike – Lockridge

WA School-based Apprentice of the Year 2017

Harmony Broughton – Halls Head
Lauren Brunalli –  Maida Vale
Benjamin Rowe – Georgina (Geraldton)
Harrison Salter-Browne – Girrawheen

WA Trainee of the Year 2017

Alex Baldock – North Coogee
Claire McLeary – Kwolyin (Corrigin)
Kristina Mutlow – Baldivis

WA Trainer of the Year 2017

Jane Goodfellow – Kallaroo
Ekta Tandon – Perth
Robert Taylor – Iluka
Indumathi V – North Perth

WA Vocational Student of the Year 2017

Maria Baker – Withers
Chloe Blight – Highbury
Nardine Burgess – Kardinya
Kyle Morgan – Strathalbyn (Geraldton)

This year's business finalists are:

WA Small Training Provider of the Year 2017

Auswest Specialist Education and Training Services
Scope Trainng
Industrial Training Institute

WA Large Training Provider of the Year 2017

North Metropolitan TAFE
South Metropolitan TAFE
North Regional TAFE

WA Employer of the Year 2017

McDonald's Australia
JSW Australia
Roy Hill

WA Industry Collaboration Award 2017

National Electrical and Communications Association WA
MPA Skills

Page last updated July 28, 2017